Viļaka Municipality from ancient to modern times!
Viļaka is rich with diverse and beautiful nature, historical evidence, Latgalian hospitality, leisurely pace of life and peace.
Viļaka is situated 8 km from the Russian border. The site on which the town stands has long been inhabited and was mentioned in historic sources in the 13th century as Purnava, the regional centre of Latgalian Atzele. Vilaka’s stone castle was built during the period when the Archibishop of Riga was Jasper Linde (1509-1524). However, it was destroyed during the Livonian War (16th century) and the Northern War (early 18th century). In 1582 Vilaka became a Polish provincial centre but after Poland was partitioned in 1772, the town, together with the rest of Latgale, was annexed by Russia. It was granted its ocial town charter in 1945.
Vilaka city is one of the most
populated places of the large Latgalian tribe, a small town with a rich
history, where the contemporary successfully interacts with the traditional.
The city rights were granted in 1945, but the development of the region began
even 700 hundred years ago, in the 13th century, when on the Vilaka lake island
a large Livonian castle – Marienhausen was built.
In the Vilaka region, the secular interacts with the traditional, nature with cultural history. Vilaka invites to enjoy a peaceful rest in “glamping” and authentic holiday homes, visit nature and swamp trails, museums, antique collections, discover new skills and abilities in interesting farms and craftsmen’s workshops.